Review: Underworks 997 Double-Front Compression Shirt: Dylan

October 23, 2009

Reviewed by Dylan

Product Name: Underworks 997 Double-Front Compression Shirt

Manufacturer’s website

Cup size at time of use: Ehn… Large? I wore an L in Champion sports bras… That’s like D something, right?

[Dys’ note: Champion’s sizing can be found here. Large fits some, but not all, D cups.]

Comfort: 5/5

  • I wore Ace Bandages and had chaffed skin, bruised ribs, and lungs which would seize when I thought about wrapping the bandages around me. I tried neoprene back supports, but gave up on those after fluid-filled blisters started leaving scars on my torso. Finally, I wore two one-size-too-small bras one on top of the other, AND an underarmour shirt over that.

    This binder is not only more comfortable, but 10 times more effective than anything I ever tried before. It’s tough to get into (I find that stepping into it, rather than pulling it over your head, works much better) but I can breathe normally and the lack of elastic bands under the chest makes it much more comfortable than even a regular sports bra.

Effectiveness: 4/5

  • I discovered that one side of my chest is significantly larger than the other one. To remedy this, I still have to wear a sports bra on top of the binder (in correct size tho, so its not too tight). However, the first time I made it work, I couldn’t stop staring at myself in the mirror. I look like I have awesome strong pecs and there is nothing indicating anything more than that.

Discreetness: 5/5

  • The shoulder straps are wide and the seams are nicely done so it does not cut into your skin or leave marks under your shirt. I wear relatively tight t-shirts and did not have any problems with it.

    I can imagine tho that it would be somewhat visible if you were wearing a skin-tight, lighter shirt.

Overall: 5/5

  • It’s a little awkward while bending over because it follows your body contours so closely and tends to hike up a little. I never had a problem of it rising too high to pull out of my pants or be uncomfortable, but you do have to keep it in check, especially if you’re moving about a lot.

    I also did not experience a lot of problems with belly compression. It tucks your stomach in nicely, but it didn’t compress it uncomfortably – I did not have a problem polishing off a good-sized meal.