Review: Underworks Tri-Top: Jordan

October 24, 2010

Reviewed by Jordan

Product name: UnderWorks 983 (Medium)

Manufacturer’s website: UnderWorks.com

Cup size at time of use: B

Comfort: 3/5:

  • It’s 70% Nylon and 30% Lycra. I think the Lycra is what makes this product actually worth it. The Nylon makes a swishing noise if I rub my shirt over the binder. Reminds me of an extremely uncomfortable bathing suit. Also, I don’t care how thin/thick you are, this sucker will roll up when you bend over or need to be adjusted if you make any sudden movements. Under the arms is the most uncomfortable because the fabric gives a pinching feeling, even though it fits like it’s supposed to or there tends to be friction there because I move my arms like other human beings. Oh, and no matter how many times you wash this sucker, it still smells like rubber or something strange. I have sink-washed and hung-dry like the instructions say and that smell never leaves. However, the fabric is breathable, so if I sweat at all, it may be damp, but it doesn’t ruin the functionality of the binder itself. Also, a major note: the website sort of assumes since you are a “biological female” then you must have tiny shoulders. This creates a problem in itself because, personally, I have very broad shoulders, so since the shoulder straps are meant to sit at a certain place on an individual with a smaller frame, it causes a hump in the scoop of the neck, which is irritating because, of course, we want it to lie flat on our chests like a tank top.

Effectiveness: 4/5

  • It definitely does what it says it does. Somebody else had submitted a photo of “without binder” and “with binder.” That describes it perfectly. It’s especially nice if you are like me and went from wearing a couple sports bras to this binder. The difference is amazing. For me, the less I wear, the better. I don’t like to have to prepare all my undergarments before putting clothes on. That’s just time-consuming and ridiculous. I don’t think I could ever wear a regular sports bra again because I have definitely become accustomed to the binding effect. It has also helped with my posture, although the binder is not stiff and is flexible, but I tended to hunch over without knowing it to hide my chest. It definitely could improve though because I still am not fully confident to walk around with my chest thrust outward (not that I would, but you know what I mean). Also, I adjust my chest under this binder by flattening my breasts toward each armpit. Personally, this helps me and the “shaping” process because, of course, if they aren’t perfectly positioned in the binder, there are oddly-shaped looking bumps on my chest and no, they don’t appear to be pecs, however, what I described does help with that specific effect.

Discreetness: 3/5

  • Depends on the shirt you wear over it. A tighter fitting shirt is more difficult because of the hump that’s created in the neck scoop, so it protrudes outward if the shoulder straps are not positioned on the outermost part of my shoulders. No, wearing a tank over it really doesn’t help, and like I said, I am personally burnt out on layering my clothes. That was the point of the binder. Also, with a tighter fitting shirt, if it rolls up, well, you might as well be wearing a sports bra because you can totally tell which part of your upper body is confined within a fabric and what is not. You may also note that if you have *any* underarm fat tissue, it will protrude out of the binder in what I’ve seen described as “dog ears.” If you are a thinner person, it will appear to be a tank top under your shirt, but still keep in mind the size of your shoulders, as this will still affect how it fits.

Overall : 3/5

 

